We’ve moved!

Please visit our new blog at



PIB needs your input…

Help PIB plan a summer event by taking this quick poll:

All results will be published once the poll ends a week from today.
Thank you,


PIB announces next Lunchtime Lecture on Web Assessibility

Below are the details of our next 2010 Lunchtime Lecture Series. We hope to see you there!

Accessibility: Pearson Technology and Compliance
Come and learn how Pearson makes technology accessible for users with disabilities? Bring your lunch and learn what Pearson does currently to address usability issues and what is on the horizon. Our speakers are

Suzanne Taylor
Sr. Media Accessibility Specialist, Pearson Higher Ed.

Tom Starbranch
Accessibility and Compliance Manager, Pearson Curriculum

Friday, May 14
12 —1 p.m.
Clarendon Conference Room, 10th floor

Seats are limited and the seminar will begin promptly at noon!

PIB Lunchtime Lecture Series poster

Partners in Business Breakfast and Raffle is coming next week…

Breakfast – and perhaps a Show!

Come have some coffee, a muffin or bagel, and good conversation! Join PIB for a continental breakfast and take some time to enjoy the company of your Pearson colleagues.

While you nosh, check out our “Handel and Haydn” raffle: You can win two tickets to see “Bach Portrait,” courtesy of the Handel and Haydn Society. All raffle proceeds will go to charity.

Breakfast: It’s the most important meal of the day, so don’t miss out!

When:Thursday, April 29
8:30 – 10 a.m.
Where: Gardens A – C

The Results Are In…

With 35% of your vote, Horizons for Homeless Children emerges as the charity we’ll be supporting this year. Thank you all who participated in this poll by taking time to cast your vote for your charity of choice.


This is how you voted…

PIB needs your help…

An important part of PIB’s mission is to promote charitable giving, but we cannot accomplish this without your participation and support. Despite the precarious economic landscape last year, together we raised a substantial amount of money for our 2009 charity, Horizons for Homeless Children. Please help us determine the recipient of this year’s fundraising efforts by following the link below to our online poll and voting.

Thank you.


Which charity should our fundraising target for 2010?polls

Take a Lunch Break with Poptropica!

Take a lunch break as PIB presents the first of its Lunchtime Seminar Series:

Presented by James Lema

Bring your lunch to Garden C on Wednesday, March 31st from 12-1 and learn about Poptropica®, the safe virtual world used by kids around the globe for online games and educational quests. It was developed right here by Family Education Network!

This is the first in a series of Lunchtime Seminars presented by PIB. Future topics include Travel, Financial Planning, Pearson Artists, and ABC TMA. If you’ve got an idea you’d like to present, please let us know!

Recognizing Rosie’s Place Volunteers

For 12 years Pearson employees have supported Rosie’s Place by donating time, food and money. For having their community service recognized by the company in winning the Pearson Community Award we list and applaud the following individuals:

Courtney Alexander
Linda Arends
Joyce Barisano
Marcy Baughman
Beth Blumberg
Jim Brady
Jane Breen
Abby Briggs
Katherine Bryant
Erica Capogreco
Sarah Carroll
Paula Carroll
Sara Castrignano
Lori Ann Cohen
Florence Cordovano
Brett Creane
Chris Deliee
Carolyn Dolcimascolo
Barbara Donnelly
Dottie Enrico
Joey Estes
Annette Fantasia
Tom Ferreira
Suzanne Finn
Anne Francis
Patti Fromkin
Louise Gachet
Julia Gecha
Jacqueline Gillen
Jennifer Gomes
Sandra Graff
Rebecca Hall
Toni (Antoinette) Haluga
Kristen Harrington
Lance Hatch
Karen Holtzman
Vicky Hurwitz
Sue Hutchinson
Kathy Immel
Sarah Jensen
Linda Johnson
Jill Johnson
Anne G. Jones
Lynne Kalkanajian
Roz Kane
Shelly Kondrat
Kathleen Kourian
Paula Kubisik
Heidi Kuczmiec
Faye LaCasse
Greg Lam
Alicia Lankowski
Russ Lappa
Mary Ellen Leahy
Elizabeth Lehnertz
Sara Levendusky
Lisa Maconochie
Ann Mahoney
Courtney Marsh
Christina Martin
Grace Massey
Dan Mattrazzo
Robyn Matzke
Nicole McClelland
Terri Mitchell
Tania Mlawer
Suzanne Monk
Tara Monuteaux
Courtney Mullen
Kelly Nicolson
Heather Nixon
Paula Pascucci
Jeffrey Paulhus
Gabriela Perez
Quinn Perkson
Judi Pinkham
Kim Regan
Laura Ricci
Shana Rosenthal
Carol Roy
Rebecca Ruvido
Suzanne Schineller
Debbie Schwartz
Colleen Shea
Vicky Shen
Greg Slook
Nancy Smith
Emily Soltanoff
Thomas Starbranch
Jayne Stevenson
Tiffany Taylor-Sullivan
Jerry Thorne
Sarah Truax
Amanda Watters
Pearl Weinstein
Andrew White
Berkley Wilson
Michelle York

Charityfest Fundraising Results

This year’s fundraising event raised a total of $4,841.00 for Horizons for Homeless Children. This is an amazing amount considering our present economic climate. We should all be proud that together we have made a dent in charitable giving!

PIB thanks you for the wonderful donations we received from Pearson employees as well as private individuals, and for the generous donations from local businesses. Your selfless giving made all the difference and we could not have done it without you!

Happy Holidays!

Way-To-Go Winners Announcement

It is an honor to be nominated!

PIB received peer nominations for 21 deserving employees for the 2009 Way-To-Go Awards. From that list of distinguished candidates 5 individuals were selected as winners, receiving a certificate of merit for going the extra mile and being recognized for the positive contributions they have made in improving the workplace. Each certificate was accompanied by a $25.00 gift certificate.

Among the 2009 Way-To-Go Award winners were:

Ken Chang

Jorgensen Fernandez

Cathy Terwilliger

Cindy Strowman

Kevin Wong

Congratulations to this year’s Way-To-Go Award winners!

The complete list of nominees include:
Sara Castrignano
Ken Chang
Sheila DeFazio
Amanda Ferguson
Jorgensen Fernandez
Will Hirschowitz
Karen Holtzman
Stephanie Krol
Ben Leveillee
Abigail Lewis
Robyn Matzke
Debbie Munson
Susan Nimmo
William Oppenheimer
Jodi O’Rourke
Stephen Rider
Susan Saris
Cindy Strowman
Cathy Terwilliger
Maria Torti
Laura Vivenzio
Kevin Wong

Thank you who took time to nominate these fine individuals for the recognition they so rightfully deserve!